Understanding Source Types, Records and Other Important Information
Below contains information about different source types, how to order census, vital and other primary sources/reproductions, and how to cite less common sources such as videos, interviews and podcasts. Each source type that you may come across is unique and must be examined with caution. Students should research the author's background and determine whether he, she or they is an expert in the field that is being discussed before incorporating such sources within a research paper or project. Helpful Research Tip: When in doubt, toss it out. It is better to find other credible sources for research then use a source type that is lacking pertinent information to like author, publication date, journal title to authenticate its credibility.
Requesting Records from Archives
Library Of Congress (LOC)
The Library of Congress provides Duplication Services for print items and manuscripts when applicable. Duplication can be provided for items in the following copy formats: Digital Scan, Digital PDF, Paper Photocopy, Digital Print, and Microfilm (for a fee). Visit: Library of Congress Duplication Services to learn more.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Census Pages, Court Records, Immigration & Naturalization Records, Land Files, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Military Service and Pension Records, and Native American Records can be ordered for a fee through the Reproductions Department of NARA.
Smithsonian
Commercial reproductions from the collections of the Smithsonian Institution Archives can be obtained by following the instructions below. The fee schedule associated with each collection is for reproductions only. Fees can be paid by credit card. An individual payment link for credit card payment will be sent after order processing.
International African American Museum (IAAM)
The International African American Museum will open in 2022, but you can explore their online repository and discovery family history and other genealogical records while learning. IAAM Center for Family History is located at one of our country's most sacred sites.
Other Resources:
Provides family history research from Ancestry.com platform. Includes city directory, slave schedules, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Mortality Schedules, Veteran Schedules, and census data.
How to Use-media sources and less commonly used sources
Like most sources, you should try to find out information about the author and cross-check the information in the podcast to see if you can find it elsewhere. Because anyone can produce a podcast, be aware that biased podcasts exist, and some might be used as propaganda (Purdue Owl).
Nellie Conley (b. Louisville, Ky), better known as film actress Madame Sul-Te-Wan
Creative Tutorials| Student Project -Tools
Creative Projects can be daunting but have no fear! There are a variety of free resources available to create engaging, scholarly, and college appropriate projects. Below are links to a variety of resources to use. If you have any questions, about how to use any technology related resources, the library's Media Center and trained Librarians are here to help! Just e-mail asloss2@tnstate.edu for assistance!
- Wix| Creating A Website-Beginners Learn to make a full WIX website from a WIX professional in this tutorial fast. Go from beginner to pro with just one video and make a modern website from scratch.
Helpful Resources for Students
"Something Good-Negro Kiss" (Silent Film: 1898).
TSU African American History II Course Guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
