The Role of the Collection Management Department
The Collection Management Area consists of three departments: Acquisitions, Cataloging, and Serials. These departments perform all of the ordering, processing, and payment of library books, databases, and serials (magazines, journals, and newspapers). This department manages the print and electronic formats for both campus libraries, as well as other formats for the Media Centers. Collection Management is also responsible for bindery, book preservation, transfers, and withdrawals. The department is open for service Monday through Friday, from 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM.
Stephanie Rodriguez, Assistant Director for Collection Management
Glenda Alvin, Dean of Libraries and Media Centers x5230
Other guides of interest
A subject specialist/liaison librarian can help you identify titles in a discipline to recommend for the collection.
Find the complete list here
The following guides may also be helpful:
Book Request Form
How to find book titles
- WorldCatRecords for books and other materials in libraries worldwide. It is a great source for determining what has been published by an author or in a particular field, and which libraries hold a title. (Users may also, after creating a free account, add records to a file for export, which can then be forwarded to Collection Management.)
- Library of Congress online catalogAlthough it has fewer total records than WorldCat, LC's online catalog is nevertheless among the largest online catalogs, and it provides more extensive descriptions.
- Midwest Library Service InterAcqFaculty members may also search for and request books through InterAcq. Contact Glenda Alvin for login information.
- Gale Books and AuthorsProvides information on currently published books in popular genres such as mysteries, thrillers, science fiction, detective stories, inspirational fiction and self- help .
- CHOICE Reviews OnlineSupplies book reviews of academic titles.
- Five BooksExperts recommend the five best books in their specialty. The site also covers major award finalists.
- New York Times (1851 - 2018)It offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Stephanie Rodriguez, Assistant Director for Collection Management
Our collection development policy
Our Textbook Policy
Reconsideration of Materials Form
- TSU Libraries Reconsideration of Materials FormPlease fill out this form to have books or other materials purchased by the Library to be reconsidered for being included in the collection.