Guides by Subject
The most frequently-used databases
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences,
the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both
authoritative and comprehensive.
Is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, education, film, health, history, music, and more. Provides more than 17,000 titles that are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Jstor Is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. The library has the entire Arts & Sciences Collection, the Life Sciences Collection and Business Journal IV. We have both archival and current subscriptions.
"MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment."
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, Engineering, and Advance Technologies & Aerospace databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies.
Electronic access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals (over 1 million articles)
Complimentary access back to 1999 and includes collections in Communication, Psychology, Sociology, Social Work and Social Policy, Urban Studies, Criminal Justice, Education, Nursing, Public Health, Management and Organization as well agriculture.
Is very important for research discovery and analytics. Web of Science connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases spanning every discipline. Use cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 year's worth of content that is fully indexed, including 59 million records and backfiles dating back to 1898.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Developed by the creators of APA Style®, this powerful resource guides users who have questions about how to conduct research, structure their papers, and format what they write. Academic Writer’s self-paced learning modules, reference building tools, and guided writing center support libraries and writing centers to facilitate academic success by training students to build a strong writing foundation.
Users must create their own personal accounts at Academic Writer to use the Reference and Write features of the service and to save Favorites. On your first visit to Academic Writer, click on Welcome in the title bar; then click on Login. When the Login form opens, click on Create an Account. Remember that you must always log in to your personal account at Academic Writer to use all its features.
Borrow popular ebooks to enjoy online, on your device, Kindle, or eReader. The collection is strongest in high-use and popular fiction. Check out materials using your TSU network logins.