Government Documents

A comprehensive source of GMO (genetically modified organism) health risk information

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information. A Centers for Disease Control & Prevention resource.

OSHA compliance officers often take industrial hygiene samples when monitoring worker exposures to chemical hazards. Many of these samples are submitted to the Salt Lake Technical Center (SLTC) for analysis. The sampling results included on the site represent the records of the SLTC sampling information system from 1984 forward. A U.S. Dept. of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) resource.

MyPlate Kitchen, formerly What's Cooking? USDA Mixing Bowl, provides recipes and resources to support building healthy and budget-friendly meals. MyPlate Kitchen includes recipes from the USDA Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) programs including the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). A U.S. Department of Agriculture resource.

A manually curated database of conditions with known genetic causes, focusing on medically significant genetic data with available interventions. A U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) resource.

An interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics, and contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010. Was discontinued in October 2011. A U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) resource.

This tool can help you find sources of eye health-related information for the public. A U.S. National Institutes of Health, National Eye Institute (NEI) resource.

Site includes information about drugs, including biological products, approved for human use in the United States (see FAQ), but does not include information about FDA-approved products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (for example, vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, cellular and gene therapy products). For prescription brand-name drugs, Drugs@FDA typically includes the most recent labeling approved by the FDA (for example, Prescribing Information and FDA-approved patient labeling when available), regulatory information, and FDA staff reviews that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug.

Searches for U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration-funded health centers in most cities and many rural areas.

Includes five distinct types of data containing information on food and nutrient profiles, each with a unique purpose. Provides a broad snapshot in time of the nutrients and other components found in a wide variety of foods and food products. Presents data that come from a variety of sources and are updated as new information becomes available. Includes values that are derived through a variety of analytic and computational approaches, using state-of-the-art methodologies and transparent presentation. A U.S. Department of Agriculture resource.

The HCUP family of administrative longitudinal databases contains discharge-level information on inpatient care in U.S. hospitals or ambulatory surgery encounters. A Department of Health & Human Services resource.

This site has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet. A U.S. Department of Health and Human Services resource.

A comprehensive site on Tennessee Health providing county profiles, reports, statistical data & maps.
A Tennessee Department of Health resource

Excel files giving licensing reports on a wide variety of health professions in Tennessee. Includes educational & demographic information.
A Tennessee Department of Health resource

Provides access to published results from the multitude of surveys on the AIDS pandemic and HIV infection by countries spanning 1960 to 2018. A U.S. Census Bureau resource.

Contains data on HIV genetic sequences, immunological epitopes, drug resistance-associated mutations, and vaccine trials. A U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and Los Alamos National Laboratory resource.

Site has information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals, including over 130 Veterans Administration (VA) medical centers, across the country. You can use Hospital Compare to find hospitals and compare the quality of their care. A U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services resource.

Digital collection of portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Look under "Copyright" for permissions information. Coverage: 15th to 21st century.
Provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health

This resource enables scientists to compare influenza virus strains so that emergent variants can be more rapidly identified, and vaccines developed accordingly. As the library of viral sequences grows, it will act as a reference to help further our understanding of how avian viruses spread to humans, and how influenza activity spreads throughout the world. A U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) resource.

A U.S. Food and Drug Administration resource.

images from the collections of the 27 institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images, and various exterior images. Look under "About the NIH Image Bank" for permissions. Search or browse.
Provided by the National Institutes of Health

An online library catalog provides access to the nation’s largest repository of information dedicated to the health of minority populations within the United States and its territories. The collection includes over 60,000 documents, books, journal articles, reports, and media related to the health status of racial and ethnic minority populations. In addition, users can access consumer health materials in more than 40 languages. The database identifies print and digital content leading to article, document, journal, and organizational records. A U.S. Department of Health and Human Services resource.

Full text resource describing genes and inherited disorders in humans.
An NCBI database

SAMHDA is an initiative funded under contract HHSS283201500001C with the Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). CBHSQ has primary responsibility for the collection, analysis, and dissemination of SAMHSA's behavioral health data.

Provides health advice to international travelers, including advice about medications and vaccines. A U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention resource.

Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Transverse CT, MR and cryosection images. Provides links to applications for viewing the images as well as sources of images and animations based on the project.
Provided by the National Library and Medicine and the National Institutes of Health

Find An Affiliate By State

Explore datasets, tools, and applications related to health and health care.

The Office of Medicare and Appeals has compiled data sets for public information as part of the Health Data Initiative.

U.S. Census Bureau datasets may include statistics, graphs, maps, microdata, printed reports, and results in other forms. Datasets are usually for public use, with all personally identifiable information removed to ensure confidentiality. Users analyze, extract, customize and publish statistics.

The official datasets used on the Medicare.gov Hospital Compare Website provided by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. The data allows users to compare the quality of care at more than 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals across the country.

From the National Center for Health Statistics.