Research Data Management

Data management and analysis is one of the fastest growing and most challenging areas of research and development in both academia and industry. Numerous types of applications and services have been studied and re-examined in this field resulting in this edited volume which includes chapters on effective approaches for dealing with the inherent complexity within data management and analysis. This edited volume contains practical case studies, and will appeal to students, researchers and professionals working in data management and analysis in the business, education, healthcare, and bioinformatics areas.  

Effective Research Data Management (RDM) is a key component of research integrity and reproducible research, and its importance is increasingly emphasised by funding bodies, governments, and research institutions around the world. However, many researchers are unfamiliar with RDM best practices, and research support staff are faced with the difficult task of delivering support to researchers across different disciplines and career stages. What strategies can institutions use to solve these problems? Engaging Researchers with Data Management is an invaluable collection of 24 case studies, drawn from institutions across the globe, that demonstrate clearly and practically how to engage the research community with RDM. These case studies together illustrate the variety of innovative strategies research institutions have developed to engage with their researchers about managing research data. Each study is presented concisely and clearly, highlighting the essential ingredients that led to its success and challenges encountered along the way. By interviewing key staff about their experiences and the organisational context, the authors of this book have created an essential resource for organisations looking to increase engagement with their research communities. This handbook is a collaboration by research institutions, for research institutions. It aims not only to inspire and engage, but also to help drive cultural change towards better data management. It has been written for anyone interested in RDM, or simply, good research practice.

Research Data Management (RDM) has become a professional topic of great importance internationally following changes in scholarship and government policies about the sharing of research data. Exploring Research Data Management provides an accessible introduction and guide to RDM with engaging tasks for the reader to follow and develop their knowledge. Starting by exploring the world of research and the importance and complexity of data in the research process, the book considers how a multi-professional support service can be created then examines the decisions that need to be made in designing different types of research data service from local policy creation, training, through to creating a data repository. Coverage includes: A discussion of the drivers and barriers to RDM Institutional policy and making the case for Research Data Services Practical data management Data literacy and training researchers Ethics and research data services Case studies and practical advice from working in a Research Data Service. This book will be useful reading for librarians and other support professionals who are interested in learning more about RDM and developing Research Data Services in their own institution. It will also be of value to students on librarianship, archives, and information management courses studying topics such as RDM, digital curation, data literacies and open science.

With rapidly evolving emerging technologies, the business world is entering a phase of reform. Within times of change, transformative and disruptive environments as well as uncertain futures have created a difficult landscape for leaders within business. Exploring the landscape and providing valuable insight into the leadership among these challenging times, mean that business leaders can rely on Leading within Digital Worlds to provide them with a robust analysis of leadership practices and process to take them forward in the digital age. Pete Grindrod presents Leading within Digital Worlds in a way that will ensure this is an important text for business leaders in remaining at the forefront of the business world in these times of technological and digital evolution.The results of an in-depth study are presented in this title drawing on much of Pete's expertise in leading in the digital world.

Practical Data Science for Information Professionals provides an accessible introduction to a potentially complex field, providing readers with an overview of data science and a framework for its application. It provides detailed examples and analysis on real data sets to explore the basics of the subject in three principle areas: clustering and social network analysis; predictions and forecasts; and text analysis and mining. As well as highlighting a wealth of user-friendly data science tools, the book also includes some example code in two of the most popular programming languages (R and Python) to demonstrate the ease with which the information professional can move beyond the graphical user interface and achieve significant analysis with just a few lines of code. After reading, readers will understand: · the growing importance of data science · the role of the information professional in data science · some of the most important tools and methods that information professionals can use. Bringing together the growing importance of data science and the increasing role of information professionals in the management and use of data, Practical Data Science for Information Professionals will provide a practical introduction to the topic specifically designed for the information community. It will appeal to librarians and information professionals all around the world, from large academic libraries to small research libraries. By focusing on the application of open source software, it aims to reduce barriers for readers to use the lessons learned within.

Data is a valuable corporate asset and its effective management is vital to an organisation's success and survival. With this book you will learn to master the key principles of data management and use them to implement best practices in your organization. This professional guide covers all the key areas of data management, including database development and corporate data modelling. It is business-focused, providing the knowledge and techniques required to successfully implement the data management function. This fully updated new edition provides new chapters on the most important data topics such as big data, artificial intelligence, linked data and concept systems. Principles of Data Management is fully aligned with syllabus for the BCS Professional Certificate in Data Management Essentials, making this the go-to text to unlocking the value of your data. Ideal for business managers and all involved in the development of information systems as well as data management professionals Comprehensive and descriptive view of data management Suitable for all levels, from beginners to advanced learners Must-read for anyone involved in the development of systems to manage data

It is data that guides the path of applications, and Big Data technologies are enabling new paths which can deal with information in a reasonable time to arrive at an approximate solution, rather than a more exact result in an unacceptably long time. This can be particularly important when dealing with an urgent issue such as that of the COVID-19 pandemic.This book presents the proceedings of two conferences: MMBD 2021 and MLIS 2021.The MMBD conference deals with two main subjects; those of Big Data and Modern Management. The MLIS conference aims to provide a platform for knowledge exchange of the most recent scientific and technological advances in the field of machine learning and intelligent systems. Both conferences were originally scheduled to be held from 8-11 November 2021, in Quanzhou, China and Xiamen, China respectively. Both conferences were ultimately held fully online on the same dates, hosted by Huaqiao University in Quanzhou and Xiamen respectively.The book is in two parts, and contains a total of 78 papers (54 from MMBD2021 and 24 from MLIS2021) selected after rigorous review from a total of some 300 submissions. The reviewers bore in mind the breadth and depth of the research topics that fall within the scope of MMBD and MLIS, and selected the 78 most promising and FAIA mainstream-relevant contributions for inclusion in this two-part volume. All the papers present original ideas or results of general significance supported by clear reasoning, compelling evidence and rigorous methods.